Gippsland South

The Gippsland South Electorate

Gippsland South occupies 7,429 square kilometres along the state’s coast, from Venus Bay to Loch Sport, and includes the country Victorian towns of Foster, Korumburra, Leongatha, Mirboo North, Port Albert, Port Welshpool, Rosedale, Sale and Yarram.

The electorate includes all of South Gippsland Shire and the southern parts of Wellington Shire.

Since 1929 the district has been represented largely by The Nationals, the most recent member prior to Danny O’Brien being Peter Ryan, former leader of the Victorian National Party and Deputy Premier of Victoria.

Key industries in Gippsland South include agriculture, timber production and tourism. Dairying is the biggest agricultural contributor to the local economy.

The region is also known for its beautiful natural features including Wilsons Promontory National Park, Corner Inlet, the Gippsland Lakes and the Strzelecki Ranges.

Local News


Keep in touch with Danny online as he connects with your community.

Stay up-to-date

Subscribe to Danny’s regular newsletter to stay informed about issues relating to Gippsland South.